Board of Directors

TAGT is currently seeking nominations for individuals to serve on the 2018 Board of Directors. If you know someone who would make a great strategic leader, or if you're interested in serving in a leadership role, we invite you to consider the nomination process. There has never been a more exciting time to contribute to the gifted community in a meaningful way.

Position(s) to be Filled

  • At Large #3

All nominees must be an active member of TAGT. To nominate someone, or to yourself, simply complete the form by May 18, 2017. Those who are nominated will be contacted directly with an application that must be completed and returned to TAGT no later than May 25, 2017.

Nomination Form

Selection Process
The Leadership Development Committee (LDC) will review all applications. Based on a needs assessment, the LDC will prepare a slate of nominees based on experience,
background and geographic diversity. The recommended slate will be distributed to TAGT membership. The 2017 TAGT Board of Directors will be installed at the 2017 Annual Conference in Houston and will begin service in January 2018.

Board Position Descriptions
Board Service FAQ


The Board of Directors is the governing body of the Association. The Board sets policy and makes relevant decisions on behalf of the membership by providing general oversight regarding the affairs of the Association, its committees, advisory councils, divisions, local chapters, affiliates and publications. Thus, determining TAGT policies or changes therein; actively pursuing Association goals and objectives, and monitoring financial affairs.

The 12 member Board of Directors consists of:

  • (4) officers (President, President-Elect or Past President, Secretary and Treasurer)

  • (4) Designated positions (Parent, K-12 Teacher, University, Administrator)

  • (4) At-Large positions

  • All terms are two years

  • All designated members, at-large members, Secretary and the Treasurer may serve two consecutive terms

Board Position Descriptions
Board Service FAQ

2017 Board Officers

Priscilla R. Lurz, M.Ed.
Educational Consultant
San Antonio/Boerne
D’Lana Barbay, M.Ed.
Supervisor for Parent Involvement
Beaumont ISD
Christina T. Dearman, Ph.D.
G/T Specialist
Denton ISD
Joyce E. Kyle Miller, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Texas A&M University-Commerce
TAGT Executive Director

2017 Board Members
Theresa Biggs, M.Ed.
Plano ISD
Brenda K. Davis, M.A.
Bosqueville ISD
Katie Drake
K-12 Teacher
Copperas Cove ISD
Mary Lea Pfenninger, M.Ed.
At Large
ESC Region III 

Folly Jee Ligh, M.S.
Sugar Land
Jim Patton, M.Ed.
Debbie Troxclair, Ph.D.
Lamar University
Debbie Smith
San Marcos CISD